Marina Reviews
website creator software











Reviews from ACTIVE CAPTAIN.com

Date: 2017-01-22                        Captain: Steve Koch, Ft. Lauderdale (40). 

We came into the marina after a long 49 hour crossing from Provo. Jose and crew welcomed us right off. We spent a week in this quaint fishing village and what a great first impression for the friendliness of the people of the PR! The restaurant at the marina is excellent, diesel is cheap, grocery store walking distance and the bakery down the road had the best and cheapest breakfast in PR. I can't say enough good things about this wonderful place, Jose and his crew.

 

Date: 2017-01-01                        Captain: Manuel gangaram dadlani, Puerto calero Lanzarote (40).

Stayed here for a night and fueling what a  great surprise , how good was the service and the peace i will definitely come back also mention Jose Mendez is a great host. Best fuel price

 

Date: 2016-09-26                        Captain: Capt JR Moore, Tampa FL (10). 

We​ ​have​ ​lived​ ​on​ ​our​ ​boat​ ​for​ ​eighteen​ ​years.​ ​In​ ​that​ ​time​ ​we​ ​have​ ​had​ ​the​ ​pleasure​ ​of​ ​staying​ ​at many​ ​marinas.​ ​Some​ ​better​ ​than​ ​others.   Having​ ​said​ ​that,​ ​let​ ​me​ ​introduce​ ​the​ ​best​ ​marina​ ​in​ ​Puerto​ ​Rico.​ ​By​ ​far​ ​Marina​ ​Pescaderia​ ​is​ ​the most​ ​friendly​ ​and​ ​cooperative​ ​Marina​ ​of​ ​all​ ​the​ ​marinas​ ​where​ ​we​ ​have​ ​stayed​ ​in​ ​the​ ​leeward​ ​and windward​ ​islands.​ ​All​ ​of​ ​the​ ​staff​ ​and​ ​vendors​ ​on​ ​premise​ ​welcome​ ​cruisers.​ ​Jose​ ​Mendez,​ ​the owner,​ ​will​ ​make​ ​you​ ​feel​ ​welcome​ ​in​ ​English​ ​or​ ​Spanish.   There​ ​are​ ​many​ ​sites​ ​of​ ​interest​ ​just​ ​a​ ​few​ ​miles​ ​from​ ​the​ ​marina​ ​and​ ​provisions​ ​are​ ​available almost​ ​anywhere​ ​within​ ​twenty​ ​miles. 

 

Date: 2016-09-09                        Captain: Tilion, Sete, France (10). 

If you're a "2000 boats crowded marina" 's fan, you could be a little disappointed here.  First fishing settlement of the island, the bay is very well protected and your boat will be safe. It's so beautiful there : friendly people, painted houses with wooden pier, pelican and fregatas. Puerto Real's Marina Pescaderia is the most friendly human size well equipped marina in Puerto Rico. Concrete pier, nice wifi, water, electric, showers, gas station, dump station,...,everything you need for boats and boaters -even car rental- can be find thru the office or at the shops in or close to the marina. And what about restaurants, fishes, socialization and the Real Puerto Rican way of Life !! The whole package with smiling faces and fair price. Going either West or East, Marina Pescaderia is a "Caribbean Top Five" stop for us. Just one word about the cons : Let's forecast a few more time than usual as you won't be able to leave this paradise place without a last glance.

 

Date: 2016-05-04                        Captain: intrepidandy, Melbourne FL (120)

We are. 40 foot sailboat and diverted here rather than south coast PR when the wind shifted dead ahead. Easy entry very sheltered in a low key pleasant fishing village so different from the resorts. $1.20/ft good laundry good car rental at about $30/day plus insurance if you need it, good restaurant to left of marina with yellow rails as you look at it from sea and Tu Gusto also good on site bar restaurant.

 

Date: 2016-04-15                          Captain: Gunk, Leamington, Ontario (600)

We are a 47 foot sailboat, 6 foot draft, 66 foot air draft. Easy entrance to bay and marina. Great fuel dock. Stern in recommended, short cement finger docks. Great restaurant at head of docks, nice bakery a short walk away. Small chandlery across the street. Nice, clean showers. Car rentals on site. Good place to be, friendly staff. Had our fuel polished there on site, tanks cleaned by Twin Electronics, great job!


Date: 2016-03-08                          Captain: jerry weeks+, fairhope, al (42)

If you need better service than is provided here, you need to die and go upstairs. Jose bends over backwards to accommodate visitors. From stopping his regatta work to help us, to being an ambassador for P.R., to being the best tour guide you will find. The onsite restaurant, fresh fish market, laundry and showers are first rate. The best is having an onsite electric, electronics and boat system repair with Twin Electrics, 787-851-8825. They are totally fair and their work superb. This is a must stop on our return from the V.I.'s.


Date: 2016-01-21                         Captain: B Carey+, Lakeland (997)

We were planning on anchoring in Mayaguez when entering Puerto Rico, but our windlass wasn't working, so we called Jose at 6 p.m., and was offered to tie up to the fuel dock since no slips were available. I called him back as we entered the bay at 9 p.m., and he sent the security guard out to help us tie up. What service! And... the next morning at 8 a.m., he had arranged for the Twin Electronics guys to come to the boat to fix the windlass. It was a simple fix and quickly performed. The staff was so helpful and friendly! The next day, although there was limited space, Jose (the owner) had boats moved around to find a slip for us. We ended up staying 3 nights. They arranged for a driver to take us into Mayaguez to Sam's and Walmart for only 30 dollars total (and he waiting for us the entire time!). We'd definitely stop again.


Date: 2016-01-15                          Captain: Captain Stewart+, city island (270)

I also anchored out but used this facility. Very well kept, gated with a guard at night. Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. They helped us rent a car, and there was every sort of store within 30-40 minutes. Even saw Star Wars in a movie theater after reprovisioning at Sams Club next door. No real town here, so a car ($30/day) was a must if shopping. A very positive experience.


Date: 2015-12-11                          Captain: Emory, Newport (190)

This marina has it all: water for $5/day, fuel at a good value, a washer/dryer, and an owner (Jose Mendez) who is a great host. There is a wonderful restaurant on site, A Tu Gusto; truly a hidden gem. There is also a fish market, fishing equipment shop, and dive shop on premise. Across the street is a marine parts store with decent inventory. Jose also gave us directions to a local bakery/cafe for breakfast, lunch and essential groceries. It was fabulous as well! Such a great marina!


Date: 2015-10-03                         Captain: Carlton Brown, Merritt Island, Fl (20)

This Marina has it all, the owner Jose and his staff are great. Jose gives you advice on where to visit, one of his staff even drove us to Mayaguez to Customs. Restaurant on site is outstanding. Also fish market and washer and dryer onsite. This is the Marina you'll want to visit on your return trip, we sure will.


Date: 2015-07-12                         Captain: Alegria.TX+, San Marcos, TX (785)

We spent 4 nights here (5/21-24/15) and thoroughly enjoyed it. Jose and his staff made us feel welcome and provided much assistance & information while we used our time here to explore the west and south coasts by rent car. The marina has security gates on all docks and a security guard at night. There is a great restaurant, A Tu Gusto, on site as well as a great fresh fish market. Several big grocery stores are 15 min away by car. Good bakery less than a mile away. Marina is in a protected bay with many local fishing boats based here. Will stay here again on our way back west.


Date: 2015-03-31                             Captain: jterry, ft worth tx (20)           

Jose and staff were accommodating. Top notch! Great price on diesel. Free water for guests. Convenience store, tackle shop, bar & restaurant on site. Jose arranged for driver to Customs and run errands. He spent 20 min going over the tourist map making recommendations. 


Date: 2015-03-29                          Captain: Don Joyce+, Hampton, VA (2481)

Although we anchored out, we used this marina as our base. Lots of transients coming in for the night and to buy fuel which was 3.08/gal on 3/30/15.Jose and crew make everyone welcome. Good stores on site, and just across the street. On site Resturant/bar is fun. Another good family restaurant 1/2 block to the left on exiting the marina. Decent WiFi. Washer and dryer. Actually can't think of a negative aspect. If they have room definitely use the marina instead of anchoring out! A happy place.


Date: 2015-02-07                         Captain: Jacquikite, Beaconsfield (90)

Safe marina. Staff very friendly. A lot of facilities inside or near the marina. Not expensive : electricity costs are ridiculous, 1.2$/ft for catamaran; 1$/washing machine; A lot of restaurants, bar ships handler, hardware, supermarket, engine and electrician technician, diving and fishing store in the area. A local taxi can drive you to Mayaguez for custom clearance or at the big mall for renting a car. I'm not used to stop at a marina, but I'll stop again if all marinas are like this one.Jacques- Catamaran Chantemer


Date: 2015-01-30                         Captain: John and Paulette...Seamantha, On Board mv Seamantha (130)

Arrived Marina Pescaderia in Puerto Real after a night crossing of the Mona from the DR. Stayed mid-Decemeber 2014 to mid-January 2015. This is one of those classic cases of falling in love with a marina and the surrounding area and staying much longer than we planned! To start, the docks are fixed fingers, but in great condition. With only a two foot tide and no swell, this was not a problem. The marina is in a bay and well protected from the wind from all directions except west. West winds not often seen in these parts! Even on the days when we had 20knts gusting 30knts, the chop was light. Our bow was secured to very strong pilings. Electric was a stable 220v...no power outs. The marina was well maintained, with clean modern bathrooms and one washer/dryer.

The owner, Jose Mendez, couldn't have been more helpful. Spent an hour with us when we arrived to review some touring options and continued to help us during the whole month at his marina. Popular Car Rental picked us up when we needed a car. Cost was $215/wk plus insurance. We toured the whole western end and central portion of PR, plus did an overnighter to Old San Juan. Driving to beach areas, heading up in to the mountains, visiting towns and various sights kept us very occupied for most of the month. We discovered what a charming country Puerto Rico is.

Puerto Real is a fishing village. Every morning, a dozen or so small fishing boats headed off for the day's catch. Lobster, octopus, conch, red snapper, grouper and several local varieties were available to us six days a week. One of the fish markets was located right in the marina and Vanessa always greeted us with a smile. Everything we bought was fresh caught that day.

On sight at the marina, we enjoyed Tapas and cocktails at Vaiven. Owner Javier is a great guy and the tapas menu has many different options, all prepared fresh daily. Drink prices were reasonable and portions generous. Just around the corner from the marina, in Puerto Real, was Brisas del Mar, a family owned fish restaurant open for lunch and dinner most days. It was an excellent place to introduce us to Puerto Rican food especially Mofongo!

Marina Pescaderia was one of those destinations where you really feel like family after a while. Even after a month, we were sad to leave!


Captain: Kevin23+, London (619)

The owner of the marina (Jose) is the most helpful person you could wish to meet and will help you with any situation. The docks are fixed concrete (new) and for larger boats med moor is the norm with very strong posts to moor the bow of the boat. The dock rate decreases for longer stays, there is a weekly then a monthly then a multiple month rate. We stayed for two months and got the mutiple month rate $13/ft/month. We left the boat for a month and flew home, the marina is very safe. Car rental from Popular Bank will give you access to the whole island and there is a lot to see and do. They will pick you up and return you to the marina and their rates are good ($60/day for a 4 door Jeep wrangler 2013). This marina is a gem and should not missed if you are passing PR. There's a guy called Harry who comes to the marina every day and will take you to the stores and anywhere locally for a small donation to cover his costs, he is very helpful, look for his green Ford truck.


Date: 2014-01-20                          Captain: wcasado+, Ft. Lauderdale (132)

We got there on Dec-19-13. Very helpful staff. The owner Jose Mendez will greet you personally, he spend over an hour with us guiding us to Puerto Rico, we used much of his advice while visiting this wonderful island, and everything resulted as we had been told by Jose. Stayed there 4 days. Excellent restaurant on Place 'vaiven', open from Thursday to Sunday. We went every day we stayed there, really good food. Fuel on dec-24-2013 was 4.117 for Gallon of Diesel.


Captain: Jeffrey Hurwitz, Bonita Springs, FL (191)

After a blown main, a sick port engine, and the threat of Chantal forced us to abort our Ft. Lauderdale delivery we turned south and headed for Marina Pescaderia. Everything previously said is true and this is a great gem on the west coast of PR. Jose, Fernando, Angel...just the best. Juny and Macho great local mechanics. In the heart of the best seafood in PR and close for land excursion (highly recommended) (cheap car rental in Mayaguez) to Rincon and points along the west coast.


Date: 2013-05-11                          Captain: Parry+, Melbourne, Australia (62)

The new Marina of Puerto Real, Marina Pescaderia, must be the best fuel and water stop in Puerto Rico, indeed whole of east Caribbean. It has a long and easily approached fuel dock, good staff. Diesel price $4 and Water 5cents/ Gallon. Even big name two stroke oil is only $20 Gallon. Facilities are above standard. Modern bar and restaurant with fantastic service AND the cheapest laundry we have found in the whole of the eastern Caribbean. The approach showed on our new chart plotter as 6 feet - Wrong - it is double that, and well marked. We have anchored in front of the marina, and there is plenty of room to do so. We stumbled on this gem through word of a local [thanks Marc, Wings], and I had some trepidations, but boy is this so easy. Miles better than Salinas's sorry fuel dock, and much better than jerry jugging at Boqueron et al. I am totally sold, the word needs to get out on this one.


Date: 2013-03-08                          Captain: John and Peggy+, Apollo Beach, FL (928)

The marina provided excellent service for the 30-hour period we were there. You can call the owner, Jose, on his cell phone (the number published for the marina). He speaks excellent English and is very friendly. When at the marina, you can go to the store next door to the office and get Fernando to act as interpreter. He will also give you advice about where to get things you may need. 


Date: 2013-02-11                          Captain: WayneB, SW FL (455)

Docks are new and very solid; marina staff is helpful and eager to please; prices for diesel are reasonable ($4.17 with quantity discount, $4.27 otherwise, all taxes included). 


Date: 2011-04-23                          Captain: anchormanagement, Kemah, TX (20)

Small but nice place. The people here are very helpful.


Date: 2011-03-15                         Captain: CRB, Port St Lucie (514)

The marina is brand new and 3 red markers make entry through the bay easy. They are very friendly and helpful. When we docked 3 dock hands were available to help before we got there.

LOCATION
18*24'29.30" N 67*11'19.18"W
PR 308 KM. 4.0
No. 1158 Suite #5
Bo. Puerto Real
Cabo Rojo, PR 00623

CONTACTS
Email: [email protected]
Phone: +1 (787) 717 3638